Introduction to the Chakras

You may have heard the term "chakra" thrown around during your journey to learn more about yoga and meditation. Learning about and working through my chakras has been a major part of my healing process, and I think they're important to be aware of. Especially when writing your morning pages or meditating, focusing on the chakras can be very healing.

Chakras are centers of energy in your body and they reside along your spine. In total there are seven of them and each correspond with a certain idea or emotion. Ideally one seeks to balance their chakras to create an optimal ecosystem of energy and allow for a better overall lifestyle. If you're out of balance in any way, you may notice negative behaviors or thinking patterns in your life.

In addition to a brief explanation of the chakras, I've also included positive affirmations. If you feel that you are imbalanced with a particular chakra, you can allow yourself to heal by repeating these affirmations to yourself either when meditating or writing your morning pages.

1. Root Chakra: Located at the base of the spine or the tailbone. Represents your security, safety, basic survival needs, finances and support for living your life. Much of your childhood is related to the root chakra.

This is your right to be here.

An imbalanced root chakra may involve behaviors that are ruled by fear, such as negativity, eating disorders, greed, and the feeling of insecurity. 

Positive affirmations: I am safe. Just like a tree or star, I have a right to be here.

2. Sacral Chakra:  Located a few inches below your navel. Represents your emotions, sensuality and creativity.

This is your right to feel.

An imbalanced sacral chakra may involve dependency, being ruled by your emotions, sexual obsession, lack of sex drive, or feeling stuck in a particular mood. Usually combined with feelings of guilt and/or shame.

Positive affirmations: I am joyful. I am spontaneous. I am creative. I love and enjoy my body.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra: Located behind your ribs and diaphragm. Represents your willpower, ability to form opinions and beliefs, personal identity, confidence, and independence.

This is your right to act.

An imbalanced solar plexus chakra may involve excessive control, irresponsibility, manipulation, lack of ambition, lack of confidence.

Positive affirmations: I am confident in everything I do. I am successful and release my creative energy into this reality, effortlessly.

4. Heart Chakra: Located in the center of your chest. Represents your love for oneself, love for others, compassion and forgiveness.

This is your right to love.

An imbalanced heart chakra may involve defensiveness, jealousy, relying on the approval of others, being antisocial, or the inability to forgive.

Positive affirmations: I deeply and completely love and accept myself. I forgive everyone for everything they have ever done to harm me. I forgive myself for everything I have ever done to harm others.

5. Throat Chakra: Located in the center of your neck. Represents communication, intuitive abilities, ability to create, ability to realize a sense of purpose.

This is your right to speak.

An imbalanced throat chakra may involve lack of control over speech, inability to listen, fear of speaking, inability to keep secrets, telling lies, lack of connection to purpose in life. 

Positive affirmations: I am open, clear and honest with my communication. I live an authentic life. 

6. Third Eye Chakra: Located on the forehead between the eyebrows. Represents vision, intuition, motivation, creativity, spiritual contemplation and self reflection. 

This is your right to see.

An imbalanced third eye chakra may involve feeling stuck, illusions, inability to establish vision, rejection of the spiritual, lack of clarity, highly focused on the black and white.

Positive affirmations: I nurture my spirit. I trust my intuition.

7. Crown Chakra: Located at the top of the head. Represents consciousness, a realization of a deeper meaning of life, and presence of energies.

This is your right to know and learn.

An imbalanced crown chakra may involve being disconnected, constant cynicism to what is sacred, closed mindedness, or attachment to the spiritual.

Positive affirmations: I honor the Divine within me. I am part of the Divine. I am made up of the same matter as the stars. I am the stars.


Happy healing! Feel free to leave any questions or comments below.